Artist/ Band: Karfagen
Title: The Key To Perception
Label: Caerllysi Music
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

I reviewed the separate releases that encompass The Key To Perception, Continuum (2006) & Space Between Us (2007) plus 12 bonus tracks, which is the complete history as of itís release in 2009. Thereís also an in-depth booklet which tells the story of Karfagen.

The man behind the scenes is multi-instrumentalist Antony Kalugin, a Ukrainian rock artist, whoís also responsible for two other projects Sunchild and Hoggwash, that were released during the time of the Karfagen recordings. Antony is quite a busy musician that juggles three projects. Sunchild was reviewed by one of the staff writers at

Karfagenís music captures the spirit of classic progressive rock such as Camel, Focus and UK. The bonus tracks are demos and previously unreleased material. You can read my separate reviews of the Continuum and Space Between Us for the music content.

Whether you have the first two releases or not, I would recommend getting The Key To Perception for itís great value musically. Itís also for those on the fence about the band plus better value money wise. This also marks the first chapter, hopefully in a long career, of Karfagen.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on July 23rd, 2010


CD 1:

1. A Winter Tale - Part 1
2. A Winter Tale - Part 2
3. Silent Anger
4. Old Legends
5. All the Time I think about you .
6. Amused Fair
7. Stone Talk
8. Marvelous Dance
9. Muse
10. Close to Heaven (Bonus track)

Bonus Tracks from The Key To Perception

12. A Winter Tale (demo)
13. E2 - E4 (previously unreleased)
14. Silent Anger (demo)
15. Old Legends (demo)
16. Silent Anger part 2 (previously unreleased demo)
17. Amused Fair (demo)
18. Marvelous Dance (demo)
19. For the Friend (previously unreleased demo)
20. The Key to Perception (previously unreleased)

Cd 2:

1. Entering the Gate
2. The Great Circus
3. Temple of Light
4. The Other Side
5. Sky of COuple Colors
6. Masks and Illusions
7. The Dream Master
08. Labyrinth
09. Let Go
10. Wonder Valleys
11. Kingeisher and Dragonflies
12. Retrofall
13. Mind Games
14. The Space Between Us
15. When the Night Falls
16. Big Outro

Bonus tracks from The Key To Perception

17. Labyrinth (extended demo)
18. Night Flight Jam (previously unreleased)
19. Sun Valleys (previously unreleased demo)

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.